SEC ties file with 10 groups in NCAA baseball tourney

1 day in the past
SEC Employees

Picture: Florida Athletics

BIRMINGHAM, Alabama — A record-tying 10 Southeastern Convention baseball groups have been chosen to compete for the 2023 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship, in response to an announcement Monday by the NCAA Division I Baseball Committee.

Florida was chosen because the No. 2 total seed, whereas Arkansas is No. 3, LSU is No. 5, Vanderbilt No. 6, Kentucky No. 12, Auburn No. 13, South Carolina No. 15 and Alabama No. 16. Tennessee and Texas A&M additionally earned bids. The SEC led all conferences with 10 alternatives.

This marks the fourth time that 10 SEC groups have earned NCAA Event bids. Ten groups have been additionally chosen in 2014, 2018 and 2019. A file eight SEC groups have been named amongst 16 NCAA Regional hosts.

The highest eight nationwide seeds so as are Wake Forest, Florida, Arkansas, Clemson, LSU, Vanderbilt, Virginia and Stanford. Seeds 9-16 so as are Miami, Coastal Carolina, Oklahoma State, Kentucky, Auburn, Indiana State, South Carolina and Alabama.

Every regional subject options 4 groups, enjoying in a double-elimination format. All 16 regionals are scheduled to be performed Friday, June 2 to Monday, June 5 (if obligatory). Regional winners will advance to best-of-three Tremendous Regionals, with these eight winners advancing to the School World Sequence.

The 76th Males’s School World Sequence begins play Friday, June 16 at Charles Schwab Subject Omaha, Neb. The SEC has claimed eight nationwide titles by six completely different groups since 2009, together with three within the final three tournaments. Seven SEC groups have completed runner-up and there have been three SEC vs. SEC School World Sequence finals throughout that interval.

Opening video games, Friday, June 2

Lexington Regional — Kentucky vs. Ball State, Midday ET

Baton Rouge Regional — LSU vs. Tulane, 3 p.m. ET

Fayetteville (Ark.) Regional — Arkansas vs. Santa Clara, 3 p.m. ET

Gainesville Regional — Florida vs. Florida A&M, 5:30 p.m. ET

Clemson Regional — Tennessee vs. Charlotte, 6 p.m. ET

Auburn Regional — Auburn vs. Penn, 7 p.m. ET

Columbia (S.C.) Regional — South Carolina vs. Central Connecticut, 7 p.m. ET

Tuscaloosa Regional — Alabama vs. Nicholls, 7 p.m. ET.

Nashville Regional — Vanderbilt vs. Japanese Illinois, 8 p.m. ET

Stanford Regional — Texas A&M vs. Cal-Fullerton, 10 p.m. ET